Jesus’ Prayer for Glory April 10, 2013

From Once A Day Devotional for Women

The-word-of-God

April 10

JESUS’ PRAYER FOR GLORY

After Jesus said this, he looked toward heaven and prayed:
    “Father, the hour has come. Glorify your Son, that your Son may glorify you. For you granted him authority over all people that he might give eternal life to all those you have given him. Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent. I have brought you glory on earth by finishing the work you gave me to do. And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.” John 17:1-5

At the last supper, the night before his betrayal, Jesus prayed this prayer. Precisely at the time when Jesus was preparing himself and his disciples for the suffering he would endure in the days ahead, Jesus prayed that God would be glorified in his life. We often think the road to glory is lined with success. Yet, Jesus’ road to glory was lined with suffering and defeat: a horrible death on the cross. How could this “defeat” bring God glory? Jesus explained in his prayer that his own obedience to God’s plan was bringing glory to God. Rarely do we view our suffering and defeats as giving glory to God. But we also rarely have God’s view of our circumstances. God has a plan in which he is working all things out for the good of his people and for the glory of his name. While we may look forward to the glory we will share with God in heaven, perhaps the greater wonder of the Christian life is that God’s glory is reflected in our acts of obedience, love, and faithfulness in this life.
Follow Christ’s example today, by praying that God might be glorified in your life.

At times I am conflicted between obedience to God and understanding His will for my life. God’s plan just doesn’t always make sense to me. I’ve seen situations where God’s glory looked like defeat at first and where defeat was disguised as glory. It’s CONFUSING at times! The most important thing I can do is live my life, as best I can, based on God’s Word. I’ve seen people pick apart the Word of God until it doesn’t resemble anything I’ve read in the Bible. To me, it’s so important to stay true to God and forget what my selfish heart wants. God’s will is flawless and it will prevail whether I choose to be a part of it or not.

Leave a comment