The Great All April 13, 2013

From I Lift Up My Soul: Devotions to Start Your Day with God by Charles F. Stanley
faith

April 13

The Great All

Scrpture Reading: Hebrews 11:1-6
Key Verse: Hebrews 11:6

Without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

A. W. Tozer underscored the vital necessity of reckoning with the unseen reality of God and His power:

The spiritual is real… We must shift our interest from the seen to the unseen. For the great unseen reality is God. “He that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him” (Heb. 11:6 KJV). This is basic in the life of faith.
Every man must choose his world… As we begin to focus on God, the things of the Spirit will take shape before our inner eyes.
Obedience to the Word of Christ will bring an inward revelation of the Godhead (John 14:21-23).
A new God-consciousness will seize upon us, and we shall begin to taste and hear and inwardly feel the God Who is our life and our all.
More and more, as our faculties grow sharper and more sure, God will become to us the great All and His Presence the glory and wonder of our lives.

Tozer concluded with this prayer. Lift it as your own today:

Dear Lord, open my eyes that I may see; give me acute spiritual perception; enable me to taste Thee and know that Thou art good. Make heaven more real to methan any earthly thing has ever been.

Faith did not always come easy for me. For quite some time my faith was forced. I noticed it coming easily to others and I desired that effortless way that others turned to God for every little thing in their lives. I always tried to work things out myself and then after many failed attempts, I would finally call on God. I couldn’t figure out what I was doing wrong. One day it dawned on me that the underlying problem was that I was filled with doubt. God blessed me by allowing me to identify the problem. From that point on, I prayed daily for faith. I can’t tell you the exact moment that I changed but I eventually noticed that I had become one of those people who seemed to naturally live in their faith.

Without God I could not have had my faith but without faith I could not have God. I don’t really understand exactly which one I really had first but I’m so grateful that I found both of them, whichever one lead me to the other.

-TMS

One response to “The Great All April 13, 2013

  1. Everything comes from God….it is He who gave you that faith. It is a joyous blessing to hear how God has worked in your heart. May He enrich you greatly in His grace.

Leave a comment